• +714 312 6568
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Pacific:Mon-Fri 8:00-17:30

Governor Announces Appointments to Regional Water Quality Control Boards

Gov. Jerry Brown recently announced 13 appointments to regional water quality control boards across the state.

Central Valley Regional Water Quality Control Board

Brown appointed Raji Brar of Bakersfield and Daniel Marcum of Fall River Mills. Brar is the owner and operator at Countryside Market and Restaurants, and has served as a member of the Arvin City Council. Marcum is a farm advisor emeritus at the University of California Cooperative Extension since 2013, and previously served as a farm advisor for 37 years.

Central Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board

Brown reappointed Monica Samaniego Hunter of Los Osos, an incumbent since 2005. Hunter is director of research at PAST Foundation, was previously central coast watersheds program manager at the Planning and Conservation League Foundation, and has worked for several environmental and academic organizations.

Colorado River Basin Regional Water Quality Control Board

Brown reappointed Thomas Davis of Rancho Mirage, an incumbent since 2007. Davis has served as chief planning and development officer for the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians since 1997.

Lahontan Regional Water Quality Control Board

Brown reappointed Robert Keith Dyas of Rosamond, an incumbent since 2004. Davis, an engineer, works for Reserve Systems, and has served in several positions at Edwards Air Force Base from 1984 to 2012, including environmental engineer and civil engineer.

Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

Brown appointed James Famiglietti of Sierra Madre and Cynthia Guzmán  of Los Angeles. Famiglietti has been senior water scientist at the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory for the California Institute of Technology since 2014, and a professor at the University of California, Irvine School of Physical Sciences and at the University of Texas at Austin Department of Geological Sciences. He has also served as a member of the Santa Ana Regional Water Quality Control Board from 2014 to 2016. Guzmán is a senior associate at Estolano, LeSar, Perez Advisors and earned a Master of Urban and Regional Planning degree from the University of California, Los Angeles School of Public Affairs.

North Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board

Brown appointed Hector Bedolla of Healdsburg and reappointed Geoffrey Hales of Eureka. Bedolla is a vineyard manager at North Pacific Vineyard Management and has served in several related positions in agricultural management and science. Hales, a water board incimubent since 2006, is a geologist at McBain Associates and previously, at Kleinfelder Inc., Busch Geotechnical Consultants and the U.S. Geological Survey.

Santa Ana Regional Water Quality Control Board

Brown appointed Lana Ong Peterson of Orange and Daniel Selmi of Newport Beach, and reappointed William Von Blasingame  of Irvine. Peterson is senior public affairs representative at Kaiser Permanente Downey Medical Center and held several positions for Cox Communications. Selmi has been a professor of law at Loyola Law School since 1983 and was previously deputy attorney general at the California Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General. Von Blasingame, a water board incumbent since 2013, has been a member of the finance committee of the OneOC Board of Directors since 2011. He was senior vice president and general manager of Caribbean Operations at Mirant Energy Company from 2005 to 2007 and held several positions at Edison Mission Energy from 1986 to 2005, including vice president and chief financial officer of the Asia Pacific Region.

San Francisco Regional Water Quality Control Board

Brown appointed Jayne Battey of Half Moon Bay. Battey has been facilitator for the Women in Business Program at the Stanford Graduate School of Business since 2013 and owner at Miramar Farms since 2012. Previously she was director of land and environmental management at the Pacific Gas and Electric Company and executive director at the Pacific Forest and Watershed Lands Stewardship Council.

The appointments require Senate approval. Board members receive compensation of $250 per diem. 

Original author: Teresa McGaffic
Energy Department Launches Zero Energy Schools Acc...
PPIC Water Policy Center Calls for ΓÇ£Grand Compro...


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
© 2017 CivilEarth. All Rights Reserved.